AIGA Austin 2023 Fellow Awards Gala

AIGA Austin is hosting its 2023 Fellow Award Gala at the Bullock Texas State History Museum on May 10, 2023. The event will recognize three legacy professionals who have made significant contributions to raising the standards of design excellence within the greater Austin creative community and the AIGA Austin chapter.

This year’s honorees are:

  • Sean Carnegie of Lewis Carnegie
  • Wendy Carnegie of Lewis Carnegie
  • Oen Hammonds of IBM

Event Details

The evening will begin with a reception and dinner followed by the presentation of the awards. During the reception, attendees can take time to view a curated gallery of the recipients’ work.

Ticket price includes complementary cocktails, buffet-style dinner, coffee and dessert. Parking is available on site at the Bullock Texas State History Museum.

What is the Fellows Awards?

The Fellows Awards program recognizes legacy professionals who have made significant contributions to raising the standards of design excellence within the greater Austin creative community and the AIGA Austin chapter. Our Fellows are honored for their design practice and commitment to education, writing, service, and leadership.

Recipient Bios

Photo of Sean Carnegie

Sean Carnegie

Known for a tested creative process, Sean is driven by an understanding of the fine art of communicating complex information. As a principle and creative director at Lewis Carnegie, he continues to make an impact for his clients and community.

Sean earned his bachelor’s degree in Design at Maine College of Art (94) and completed an intensive postgraduate assignment at Eastman Kodak’s Center for Creative Imaging. In addition to his professional work, Sean has taught at The University of Texas and Texas State University.

A founding member of AIGA Austin, Sean served as Chapter President, Design Ranch Director and is currently on the Advisory Board.

Photo of Wendy CarnegieWendy Carnegie

Wendy Lewis Carnegie is a multi-disciplinary designer with expertise in everything from signage and wayfinding to identity, packaging, print, publications, and websites. A native Texan and graduate of the University of Texas, Wendy met her partner Sean while teaching at the Center for Creative Imaging in Maine. In 1998, she took a position at Pentagram, where she was exposed to national projects and the mechanics of good design. Wendy and Sean founded Lewis Carnegie in 2006 driven by a desire to work closer to home and with the local community. 

Wendy has served on the AIGA advisory board since 2017 and was Vice President from 2019 – 2021. Her award-winning career is highlighted by the collaboration with other creatives and clients, which makes sense: her favorite part of the design process is working with people.

Together, Sean and Wendy are well known supporters of the arts community; providing pro-bono professional services and opening their doors to countless non-profits and creative individuals. Lewis Carnegie hosted many AIGA Austin events; including Under the Radar, Afterhours, Listen Here!, workshops, and other signature lectures.

Photo of Oen Hammonds

Oen Hammonds

Oen Michael Hammonds is an award-winning designer with more than 25 years of experience in various design disciplines. He is a Distinguished Design Executive at IBM, a lecturer, commentator, and thought leader on design practices and issues. As the technical design executive for IBM HR, Oen works to drive the design and implementation of impactful employee experiences.

Outside of IBM, Oen is a community leader in many aspects. From running community programming to teaching design to being a chair on the national board of directors of AIGA, the largest organization of design professionals. He has presented at various global conferences, forums, and universities, including Cairo Design Week in Egypt, Hue Design Summit in Atlanta, and Yale Business by Design Conference. He was on the 2020 Fast Company Innovation by Design Awards jury. Oen enjoys helping others be their best selves in their design career and everyday life.

Previous Recipients


  • Herman Dyal
  • David Kampa


  • Judy Schulz
  • Rex Peteet


  • Lowell Williams


  • DJ Stout


  • Mike Hicks

Event Sponsors

Gold Level Sponsor

Capital Printing Logo

Silver Level Sponsor

Xtreme Xhibits logoLabel Collective Logo

Bronze Level Sponsors

24 Seven logo

Fit to Tweet logo

Lindenmeyr Munroe logo

mirmir logo

Quick Print logo


When & Where
Wed, May 10, 2023 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Bullock Texas State History Museum
1800 Congress Ave.
Austin, TX 78701